Wodonga TAFE’s annual Achievement Awards recognise excellence

Wodonga TAFE’s annual Achievement Awards recognise excellence

By Susan Burdett
23 Nov 2017

Wodonga TAFE hosted its 2017 Celebration of Achievement Awards on Tuesday evening, recognising and celebrating the outstanding achievements of its students, industry partners, and staff from across the Institute.

Held at The Cube in central Wodonga, the Achievement Awards was a festive event that showcased student diversity and talent. Clothing Production and Fashion Design students took centre stage with a fashion parade; a traditional Congolese song of celebration was performed by students enrolled in Adult Migrant English Program courses; and Events Management students ensured everything ran smoothly for the evening. Guest speaker, Mr Lincoln Budge, inspired the audience, talking about the ‘Change One Life Program’ and his achievements and travels around the world representing Australia in Paralympic snow skiing, water skiing and wheelchair basketball.

Lincoln Budge guest speaker

As well as staff and students, and family and friends of award nominees, guests at the Awards included representatives invited from industry and community organisations, in recognition of the TAFE’s extensive links and partnerships across the local region.

Wodonga TAFE’s CEO, Mr Mark Dixon, said Wodonga TAFE’s Celebration of Achievement awards is a significant event for Wodonga TAFE. “This is a wonderful forum for us to showcase just a sample of our students’ talent, as well as publicly recognising the extensive efforts that our students put in to achieve their qualifications”, said Mark. “The Awards provide an opportunity for us to share and learn in the successes of others, which ultimately helps us as a community to build and maintain a culture of appreciation, recognition and motivation.”

Mark also took the opportunity to thank Wodonga TAFE’s industry partners. “The value that a strong relationship between Wodonga TAFE and industry can bring to our community cannot be over-stated”, said Mark. “The employment opportunities that businesses provide to our community are vital, and Wodonga TAFE works with its industry partners to ensure they have continued access to the skilled workforces they need for their business success.”

Wodonga TAFE congratulates the following award finalists and winners from the Achievement Awards.

Student of the Year Award

Winner: Christian Bashimbe, Certificate IV in Spoken and Written English – Further Studies

Finalist: Breanna Meindl, Certificate III in Conservation and Land Management

Finalist: Sarah Allen, Certificate IV in Disability/Certificate IV in Education Support

Christian Bashimbe student of the year

Apprentice of the Year Award

Winner: Tegan Williams, Certificate III in Retail Baking (Combined)

Finalist: Aimee Stannard, Certificate III in Parks and Gardens

Finalist: Will Heriot, Certificate III in Landscape Construction

Tegan Williams apprentice of the year

Trainee of the Year Award

Winner: Shiralee Fish, Certificate IV in Horticulture

Finalist: Ashleigh Lehmann, Diploma of Early Childhood Education and Care

Finalist: Wyatt Snell, Certificate IV in Agriculture

Shiralee Fish trainee of the year

Koorie Student of the Year Award

Winner: Netaya Jackson, Certificate IV in Community Services

Finalist: Aaron Perkins-Kemp-Berger, Certificate II in Hospitality

Finalist: Michael Gale, Certificate II in Hospitality

Netaya Jackson koorie student of the year

Teacher / Trainer of the Year Award

Winners: David Camper, Teacher - Motorsport & Sarah Whitling, Teacher - Cookery and Patisserie

Finalist: Kelly McGregor – Teacher, Adult Migrant English Program

 David Camper and Sarah Whitling teachers of the year

Client / Service Support of the Year Award

Winners: Ann Simmons, Payroll Officer – Finance & Kellie Good, Fee Administration Officer – Client Services and Quality Management

Finalist: Kay Thompson, Executive Assistant, Office of the CEO

Finalist: Brenda Burr, Manager – TAFE Library Services

Ann Simmons and Kellie Good with Mark Dixon

Industry Collaboration of the Year Award

Australian Defence Force/Army School of Health.